Aspects of Personality and Sport

Personality can be best defined as the total sum of an individual’s characteristics which makes them unique. There are a number of theories, of varying validity, used to measure and assess personality traits and there are ongoing queries as to whether we are born with these characteristics (nature) or whether they are learned or changed through the process of growing up (nurture).

  • Trait theories believe personality is innate and in our genes. Eysenck, Cattell
  • Social learning theories believe we learn how to act or react from observing others. Bandura
  • Interactionist theories perceive we learn our behaviour from others but we also have our own traits. Hollander

Trait Theories:

The trait approach implies that individuals’ have relatively stable and enduring characteristics which could be used to predict their behaviour in a variety of situations. In summary:

  • We all have these traits but to limiting degrees
  • They are long lasting and stable
  • They are frequently evident in our behaviour
  • They enable us to predict a person’s behaviour
  • The approach emphasises the person and not the situation

Eysenck’s Trait Theory:

German psychologist, Eysenck, identified two dimensions of personality which act as a continuum, with an individuals personality falling anywhere along the two extremes: stable/unstable and introverted/extroverted. For example, if an individual is introverted (shy of social contact) but stable, they are likely to be reliable, calm and controlled. An extroverted (enjoys social affiliation) unstable individual is likely to be tough, aggressive and excitable. When assessing my dimensions, Esyenck’s theory suggests I was both stable and extroverted, which aids me in my sporting performances. These dimensions suggest I am sociable and generally prefer adopting a leadership role – netball is a team sport and requires me to participate with a number of players and therefore spend countless hours with them at training and in matches, hence the need to be sociable as opposed to reserved. Additionally, this sport requires me to encourage those around me, being vocal on court and motivating them to be resilient, even in the toughest conditions. This certifies that I enjoy leading the team, which is a perfect trait to have in netball as I love devising certain tactics and set-plays to share with the rest of the group, enhancing everyone’s performances and my outgoing personality can motivate others around me to work increasingly hard to persevere and win matches. When I am on the court, my aggression becomes more evident. In particular, I fight hard to make interceptions, win the ball in toss-ups and sprint hard to retrieve loose balls.

Image result for eysenck personality theory

Cattell’s Trait Theory:

Cattell also adopted a trait approach to personality but believed it was derived from greater than two or three dimensions. He carried this forward and made a profile that measured sixteen personality factors. In doing so, he realised that personality was more dynamic than Eysenck had suggested and could fluctuate according to the situation. Evaluating this approach it is apparent that the trait theory is:

  • Too simplistic
  • Do not take into account the nurture or personal development of the athlete
  • Are an unreliable predictor of behaviour
  • Do not take into account the environment or situation

Image result for cattell personality theory

Overall, Cattell’s theory demonstrates that in different situations, personality factors change. When I am in a position when I am losing in a tennis match, my personality is affected and could consequently become more tense and lack levels of control, which could hinder my performance and force me into unforced errors. Alternatively, my personality differs when playing tennis compared to netball: I am very self-sufficient on a tennis court as it is an individual sport and forces levels of independence. However, I cannot be as self-sufficient in netball or basketball as I have other players that I can rely on and we bond with each other to help us win.

The Situational Approach:

Bandura’s Theory: 

Bandura believes that we learn through two different types of experience – modelling and reinforcement. Therefore, as we grow up we observe what other people do and imitate it (modelling). If we are rewarded when we do it (reinforcement), we are likely to repeat this behaviour. Bandura’s model is made up of four stages

  • Attention
  • Retention
  • Motor Reproduction
  • Motivational Response

When I watch role models playing tennis, such as Andy Murray and Serena Williams, as well as analysing their technical skill and ability, I watch their personality traits flourish. Both players show high levels of aggression when they exert powerful forehands and backhands, exaggerated with their grunting for every shot, and I try to replicate this when I play. Moreover, before Murray serves, he takes a deep breath to control his heart rate and remain calm as this results in a higher percentage of first serves being in the service box. Hence, when I prepare to serve, I bounce the ball inside the court a couple of times to try and remain as calm as possible.

Evaluation of Bandura’s Theory:

  • Bandura realised that a perfomer may appear confident/aggressive in a specific situation but may appear very differently in another environment.
  • He was criticised for going too far in the opposite direction of the trait theories, substantiating it as an unreliable predictor of behaviour.

The Interactional Approach: 

Hollander’s Theory:

Hollander’s theory states that behaviour is a combination of both inherent (built-in) personality traits and environmental factors. This is summarised in the equation B=F(P.E), meaning behaviour is the function of personality and environment.

Image result for hollander personality theory

  1. Psychological Core: the ‘real you’, attitudes and values, self concept, private, relatively permanent
  2. Typical Responses: usual way we respond to the environment, learned and stored experiences, responses may indicate the nature of the core
  3. Role Related Behaviours: determined by the perception of our environment, can be changed at any time depending on the situation, action may not be a typical response but an uncharacteristic action

The interactional approach suggests that we base behaviour on inherent traits that we then adapt to the situation we are in. It takes into account personal factors, the situation in which the behaviour occurs and the interaction of these two factors. As a games player, with tennis being my preferred sport, I tend to be loud, extrovert and have a dominant manner in a game as that is the best way to succeed in that scenario. However, I am more quiet and focused when in a training session designed to improve my individual technique.

 

Emily Caswell

11/09/2016

AQA A2 Physical Education 

 

Leave a comment